Comparison · updated October 17, 2026

Hims vs Ro: Costs, care and treatment fit

Hims and Ro differ in what you pay, which medicines they list and their insurance terms.

These two prices are different kinds of bill, so read the line under each price before you compare them.

Compare plans and terms

Ro pays us a commission when you join through our links. Hims does not. That never changes a score, an order or a fact on this page. How we make money

Which should you choose, Hims or Ro?

Short answer: Choose Ro if you want to use insurance. If that doesn't matter to you, compare their plans below.

Hims is best for

Men who want a well-known publicly-traded brand and FDA-approved Wegovy through the 2026 Novo Nordisk partnership, but should know going in that Hims' customer-experience signal is weaker than smaller competitors.

Choose Ro if

  • you want to use insurance

Compare the exact medication, renewal bill and cancellation terms before you choose.

By Iacob Pastina, Independent Researcher & Publisher
Reviewed & updated · Cites primary sources (FDA, NEJM, CMS) · Not medical advice

Hims vs Ro side by side

Hims and Ro compared fact by fact
HimsRo
Price$188First month, then $298/mo$149/moMembership plus medication
MedicineBothBrand-name only
Needle-free optionBothYes, a pill or other oral form
InsuranceNo insurance listedAccepts insurance
ConsultationIncluded in required Weight Loss Membership ($39 first month, then $149/mo)Included with Ro Body membership
ShippingNot statedRo describes delivery for cash-pay orders and pharmacy pickup when using insurance
Where it shipsNot statedAll 50 states
TrustpilotNot tracked3.9 / 5 across 7,032 reviews
BBB ratingNot trackedA+ (accredited)
Our score5.9/10 Assessment unavailable5.9/10 Mixed
Assessment limitsNo current assessment record is available for a score comparison. This does not establish the quality of care.Checked Oct 16, 2026; some details not published.

What Hims and Ro plans cost

These are published terms, not a quote for your prescription. How our links work.

Hims

The only publicly-traded men's telehealth (NYSE: HIMS) with FDA-approved Wegovy via direct Novo Nordisk partnership. Brand-name access plus SEC accountability, but balanced against a 2.9 Trustpilot rating that lags peers.

  • $149 medication plus membership, first month$188$149 medication + required $39 first-month Weight Loss Membership; exact product and dose price varies.
  • $149 medication plus membership, after month one$298$149 medication + required $149/mo ongoing Weight Loss Membership; exact product and dose price varies.
  • Weight Loss Membership (first month)$39Required first-month membership; medication is billed separately.
All 12 Hims plans
  • Weight Loss Membership (ongoing)$149Required monthly membership after month one; medication is billed separately.
  • Wegovy Pill (medication only)$149FDA-approved oral Wegovy medication from $149; required membership is billed separately and exact dose price varies.
  • Wegovy Pen (medication only)$199FDA-approved Wegovy pen medication from $199; required membership is billed separately and exact dose price varies.
  • Foundayo Pill (medication only)$149FDA-approved Foundayo medication from $149; required membership is billed separately and exact dose price varies.
  • Ozempic Pill (medication only)$149FDA-approved Ozempic pill medication from $149; required membership is billed separately and exact dose price varies.
  • Ozempic Pen (medication only)$199FDA-approved Ozempic pen medication from $199; required membership is billed separately and exact dose price varies.
  • Zepbound Vial or KwikPen (medication only)$299FDA-approved Zepbound medication from $299; required membership is billed separately and exact product or dose price varies.
  • Mounjaro or Zepbound (retail cash)$1,899Both are listed at a flat $1,899/mo on the weight loss page, against $299/mo for the Zepbound vial and KwikPen; required membership is billed separately. Most eligible users will compare lower manufacturer-direct or discounted paths.
  • Wegovy Pill Microdosing Plan (medication only)$149Daily Wegovy pill at a 1.5 mg starting dose, from $149 on the weight loss page; required membership is billed separately and exact dose price varies.

Checked on hims.com/weight-loss October 17, 2026.

How Hims bills

All-in floor for a $149 medication: $188 first month ($39 required Weight Loss Membership + $149 medication), then $298/mo ($149 membership + $149 medication); exact product and dose price varies

We checked Hims' prices on October 17, 2026.Hims official pricing source

Ro

Brand-name pill and injection options with a separate care membership and insurance-concierge support for selected injections.

All 10 Ro plans
  • Ro Body Membership (6-month prepay)$89$89/mo prepaid every 6 months on its pricing page, medication billed separately
  • Ro Body Membership (3-month prepay)$99$99/mo prepaid every 3 months on its pricing page, medication billed separately
  • Wegovy Injection (intro)$199$199 for the first two months at the 0.25 mg and 0.5 mg starter doses, and its pricing page says sign up by December 31, 2026 to qualify; medication only, membership billed separately
  • Wegovy Injection (ongoing)$349$349 a month for the 1 mg to 2.4 mg doses and $399 for 7.2 mg Wegovy HD on its pricing page, medication only, membership billed separately
  • Wegovy Oral Pill$149$149/mo at 1.5 mg, $199 at 4 mg and $299 at 9 mg or 25 mg. Medication only; membership is separate
  • Zepbound$299Zepbound KwikPen: $299 at 2.5 mg, $399 at 5 mg and $449 at 7.5–15 mg with the manufacturer offer. Offer eligibility and refill conditions apply; medication only, membership is separate
  • Foundayo (orforglipron oral)$149$149 at 0.8 mg. With the offer requiring sign-up by December 31, 2026, 2.5 mg is $149 and 5.5 mg is $199; 9 mg is $299, and 14.5/17.2 mg is $299 with the manufacturer offer. Medication only; membership is separate

We checked Ro's prices on October 9, 2026.Ro official pricing source

What to watch for with Hims and Ro

Hims

  • Pending federal enforcement action. On July 29, 2026 the FTC, joined by Utah and California acting through Los Angeles County Counsel, filed a complaint against Hims & Hers Health, Inc. in the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California, alleging violations of the FTC Act and the Restore Online Shoppers' Confidence Act over subscription billing, cancellation friction, and sharing consumer health information with advertising platforms. Case status is Pending. These are allegations, not findings, and Hims has not been found liable.
  • Trustpilot rating is 2.9 stars across 9,591 reviews (checked 2026-10-17). On the same day Ro showed 3.9 and Hers 3.3, so Hims has the weakest customer-experience signal of the three big brands.
Hims' strengths, cautions and terms

Strengths

  • Publicly traded company (NYSE: HIMS), SEC-filed financials, regulatory accountability that private competitors don't have.
  • 2026 Novo Nordisk partnership, FDA-approved Wegovy injection, Wegovy pill, and Ozempic now available directly through Hims. Real brand-name access from a single platform.
  • Medication starts at $149/mo for Wegovy pill, Foundayo, and Ozempic pill; Wegovy or Ozempic pens start at $199 and Zepbound at $299. The required membership makes the lowest all-in path $188 in month one and $298/mo ongoing, and exact product or dose can cost more.
  • Polished app and web experience, among the best user interfaces in men's telehealth.
  • 9,591 Trustpilot reviews (checked October 17, 2026), one of the largest review volumes among GLP-1 programs, a sign of real-world adoption.

More to watch for

  • 29% of Trustpilot reviews are 1-star (checked 2026-10-17). Top complaint themes: subscription handling, unexpected charges, customer service responsiveness.
  • Hims reviews span ALL their products (ED, hair loss, mental health, weight loss), not just GLP-1. But the rating still applies because most users don't separate experiences by product.
  • Hims says GLP-1s are not yet available in all 50 states and does not publish which states are excluded, so confirm your own state before you pay the first membership fee.
  • Hims states in its own terms that it is not a HIPAA covered entity, and that anything you send it outside diagnosis, treatment or prescription fulfilment is governed only by its privacy policy. The pending FTC complaint concerns health information shared with advertising platforms, so read that disclosure before you fill in the intake.
  • The $149 GLP-1 figures are medication-only. A required Weight Loss Membership costs $39 in month one and $149/mo ongoing, so a $149 medication path totals at least $188 initially and $298/mo after that.
  • Cash-pay only, Hims does not bill insurance, so an insured buyer may do better on a copay.
  • Generic high-volume support, large patient base means less personalized attention than smaller competitors.
Medicines listed
  • Wegovy (brand-name injection, FDA-approved for weight loss)
  • Wegovy (brand-name oral pill, FDA-approved for weight loss)
  • Ozempic (brand-name injection, FDA-approved for diabetes; off-label for weight loss per Hims/Novo disclosure)
  • Ozempic (brand-name oral pill, FDA-approved for diabetes; off-label for weight loss per Hims/Novo disclosure)
  • Foundayo (brand-name oral pill, FDA-approved for weight loss)
  • Zepbound (brand-name tirzepatide, FDA-approved for weight loss)
  • Mounjaro (brand-name tirzepatide, FDA-approved for diabetes; listed at $1,899/mo on the weight loss page)
  • Wegovy Pill Microdosing Plan (brand-name oral semaglutide, 1.5 mg starting dose, for people with less weight to lose)
Insurance
No insurance support listed
Consultation
Included in required Weight Loss Membership ($39 first month, then $149/mo)
Shipping
Not stated. The terms say you agree to pay any shipping and handling charges, if any, shown at the time you make a purchase (checked in the terms last updated August 31, 2026, read October 17, 2026)
Prescribers
Mixed clinical staff on a rotating provider model, so the prescriber who treats you is not named in advance.
Cancellation
Cancel in the app, in your online account under My Subscriptions, by email to the Customer Help Center, or by phone. The terms require cancelling at least two days before the next billing date, the first month membership fee is non-refundable, and medication is not refundable once it has shipped (checked in the terms last updated August 31, 2026, read October 17, 2026)

Ro

  • Membership and medication are billed separately, readers need to add them together for the all-in monthly cost
  • The current weight-loss menu lists brand-name medications; a compounded GLP-1 option is not established by those pages
Ro's strengths, cautions and terms

Strengths

  • Carries Foundayo (orforglipron), Eli Lilly's FDA-approved oral GLP-1 launched April 6, 2026, at $149 to $299 a month depending on dose on its pricing page
  • Insurance support for the Wegovy pen, Zepbound autoinjector pen and Ozempic; coverage and copays are plan-dependent, with membership charged separately
  • Ro Body membership: $39 first month, $149/mo ongoing, or $74/mo prepaid annually, which its pricing page frames as a $900/year saving
  • Membership includes provider messaging, regular check-ins, coaching and lab testing when clinically needed; medication costs extra

More to watch for

  • Wegovy pen medication excludes membership: $199/month is an eligible first-two-month offer for 0.25 or 0.5 mg, while 1–2.4 mg is $349/month and 7.2 mg is $399/month. Add $39 first-month or $149 ongoing monthly membership; the starter offer requires signup by December 31, 2026
Medicines listed
  • Wegovy (semaglutide injection)
  • Wegovy (oral semaglutide pill)
  • Zepbound (tirzepatide)
  • Ozempic (off-label)
  • Saxenda (liraglutide injection)
  • Foundayo (orforglipron oral, FDA-approved April 2026)
Insurance
Lists insurance support. Confirm coverage for your plan.
Consultation
Included with Ro Body membership
Shipping
Ro describes delivery for cash-pay orders and pharmacy pickup when using insurance. Confirm any dispensing-pharmacy delivery charge for your prescription
States
All
Cancellation
Cancel through your account or by email at least 48 hours before renewal to avoid another membership charge. Paid membership fees are generally non-refundable; onboarding has an exception if medication is never prescribed. Ro's returns page says prescription sales are final; its LillyDirect terms defer product refunds and disputes to the dispensing pharmacy's applicable policies

Hims vs Ro: common questions

Is Hims or Ro cheaper?

At least one headline price is a starting, introductory, prepaid or partial figure, so neither is simply cheaper.

  • Hims$188first month, then $298/mo
  • Ro$149/momembership plus medication

Which is better, Hims or Ro?

Neither wins outright on our scores, so the better one is the one that fits your medicine, budget and care needs.

Ro lists insurance support, and Hims does not.

Do Hims and Ro offer brand-name medication?

Hims and Ro both list brand-name medication.

Your prescriber decides which medicine suits you.

Do Hims and Ro take insurance?

Ro lists insurance support, and Hims does not.

Confirm coverage for your exact plan and prescription before you pay.

Where these facts come from

Hims:prices checked October 17, 2026, score evidence assessed September 3, 2026.Hims pricing and sources

Ro:prices checked October 9, 2026, score evidence assessed October 16, 2026.Read our Ro review

We score on a published methodology, and partnership never changes a score or a fact here.

What should you compare next?

Both Hims and Ro start above the cheapest complete recurring program we track. Across all 39 providers in our index, the lowest price that includes the medicine, consultation and shipping is Eden Health GLP-1 at $99/mo, checked August 28, 2026. This is a price fact, not a treatment recommendation. Compare every program by its complete price

Before you sign up, read our trust check: is Ro legit.

Hims prices and sourcesRo reviewAll comparisonsFind your match