Comparison · updated November 3, 2026

Hume Care vs MEDVi: Hume Care for compounded medication only, MEDVi for brand-name or compounded options

Hume Care and MEDVi differ in what you pay and which medicines they list. Compounded medicines are not FDA-approved.

These two prices are different kinds of bill, so read the line under each price before you compare them.

Compare plans and terms

Hume Care and MEDVi pay us a commission when you join through our links. That never changes a score, an order or a fact on this page. How we make money

This content was researched and written with AI assistance. MEDVi referral links are affiliate links: we may earn a commission if you sign up. This is independent information, not medical advice or a clinical review.

Which should you choose, Hume Care or MEDVi?

Short answer: Choose MEDVi if you want brand-name medicine as an option. If that doesn't matter to you, compare their plans below.

Hume Care is best for

Readers comparing a self-pay GLP-1 program with connected app and body-composition tracking.

Choose MEDVi if

  • you want brand-name medicine as an option
  • you want a pill or another option without needles

The available assessments do not establish a score winner, so choose by the medicine, total cost and care you need.

By Iacob Pastina, Independent Researcher & Publisher
Reviewed & updated · Cites primary sources (FDA, NEJM, CMS) · Not medical advice

Hume Care vs MEDVi side by side

Hume Care and MEDVi compared fact by fact
Hume CareMEDVi
Price$199/moGLP-1Rx semaglutide offer, billed monthly; prescription-specific extras may apply$99(affiliate link)First month, then $199 per refill; confirm the refill interval
MedicineCompounded onlyBrand-name and compounded
Needle-free optionNot listedYes, a pill or other oral form
InsuranceSelf-pay only under the current terms; not a Medicare or insurance coverage routeNo insurance listed
ConsultationIncluded in the membership where applicable, under Hume's current termsIncluded
ShippingDelivery is advertised as included; confirm for the selected prescriptionFree
Where it shipsExcludes Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi under Hume Care's published coverage policyNot published
TrustpilotNot tracked4.3 / 5 across 15,014 reviews
BBB ratingNot trackedF (not accredited)
Our score5.7/10 Mixed7.2/10 Good
Assessment limitsChecked Sep 15, 2026; some details not published.Checked Oct 16, 2026; a rating claim didn't match Trustpilot.

What Hume Care and MEDVi plans cost

Hume Care

How Hume Care bills

The GLP-1Rx page advertises $199/month, billed monthly, with care and medication if prescribed. Terms allow medication, dose, formulation or fulfillment extras, so confirm the full bill for your prescription.

We checked Hume Care's prices on October 8, 2026.

MEDVi(affiliate link)

Compounded semaglutide tablets and injections, a separate compounded tirzepatide injection, and brand-name Wegovy and Zepbound paths with a $99 membership plus medication.

All 5 MEDVi plans
How MEDVi bills

First month: $99 for compounded semaglutide injection with no contract, then $199 per refill. The landing page does not state the refill interval; MEDVi's April to August 2026 replies to BBB complaints described 28-day renewals. Confirm the interval and next charge. No verified annual payment count.

We checked MEDVi's prices on November 3, 2026.

What to watch for with Hume Care and MEDVi

Hume Care

  • No verified dispensing pharmacy in the sources reviewed
  • Terms permit prescription-specific extras; ask for dose-level totals and oral formulation details
Hume Care's strengths, cautions and terms

Strengths

  • Consultations are included in the integrated membership under the published terms
  • Native Hume Health iOS app with published Care medication and symptom logging
  • MDI Medical Group PC and a state-specific practitioner directory are publicly identified

More to watch for

  • Responsible clinical leadership and credentials have not been independently verified
  • Independent treatment outcomes and customer-review totals have not been established
Medicines listed
  • Semaglutide (compounded injection)
  • Tirzepatide (compounded injection)
Insurance
Self-pay only under the current terms; not a Medicare or insurance coverage route.
Consultation
Included in the membership where applicable, under Hume's current terms. Certain medications, doses, formulations or fulfillment options can cost extra; Hume must disclose the charge and get your express consent before billing it.
Shipping
Delivery is advertised as included; confirm for the selected prescription
Prescribers
MDI Medical Group PC, the independent clinical network named in Hume's directory. Published practitioner names and license numbers cover Massachusetts, Rhode Island and Vermont; current registry standing was not independently verified.
States
Excludes Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana and Mississippi under Hume Care's published coverage policy (checked October 8, 2026). Confirm your state's service and treatment eligibility before enrolling.
Cancellation
Cancel before your renewal date in the Subscription section of your account or by emailing support@humecare.com. If you cancel a prepaid plan early, you keep access until the paid term ends but get no pro-rated refund. Two refund exceptions apply: if a physician in Hume's clinical network finds you ineligible for any treatment after your initial evaluation, Hume refunds that membership period within 10 business days, and an included device does not reduce the refund; if Hume ends a prepaid membership without cause, it refunds the unused portion.

MEDVi

  • FDA warning letter #721455, issued February 20, 2026, cites misleading labeling and marketing that implied MEDVi compounded the drugs and that compounded products were equivalent to or FDA-evaluated like approved brands. The letter does not allege unsafe medication
  • Its third-party records conflict: Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 across 15,014 reviews, and MEDVi invited 157 of the 200 newest reviewers, while the BBB grades MEDVi F, lists it as not accredited and counts 763 complaints in three years (we checked on October 15, 2026)
MEDVi's strengths, cautions and terms

Strengths

  • Compounded semaglutide tablets and injections, plus a separately advertised compounded tirzepatide injection
  • The landing page says the program is HSA and FSA eligible and includes dietician visits and care coaching, with a footnote making that subject to insurance and copay eligibility
  • $99 covers the first month of compounded semaglutide on MEDVi's landing page with no contract, and MEDVi says its $199 refills include the same program benefits

More to watch for

  • You pay $99 only for the first semaglutide month; each refill costs you $199, and the landing page does not say how often refills bill. MEDVi's replies to BBB complaints between April and August 2026 described 28-day renewals, so confirm the interval before you pay
  • Brand-name Wegovy and Zepbound paths add a $99 membership plus a medication cost the page does not publish, and the same page's hero says "No membership or hidden fees!" directly above those cards; availability is subject to change
  • No insurance accepted, and oral compounded semaglutide has less clinical data than injectable forms
Medicines listed
  • Semaglutide (compounded injectable)
  • Semaglutide (compounded oral tablets)
  • Tirzepatide (compounded injectable; full billing terms unconfirmed)
  • Wegovy (brand-name pill or injection; availability subject to change)
  • Zepbound (brand-name injection; availability subject to change)
  • Ozempic (brand-name path referenced in MEDVi disclosures)
Insurance
No insurance support listed
Consultation
Included
Shipping
Free
Prescribers
OpenLoop Health and CareGLP Affiliated P.C.s; individual clinician credentials are not disclosed before checkout
States
Not published. MEDVi's terms say "The Services are currently available to individuals located in certain states" and give the list only by emailing customer service. No state count or state list is shown on the site's contact, about, terms or FAQ pages (rendered check 2026-09-03)
Cancellation
Cancel by email or patient-portal chat at least 72 hours before the next billing date. The policy describes initial-no-service and unshipped-prepaid-month refund exceptions, but also says refunds are limited to medical disqualification. Get the applicable plan-specific refund terms in writing; cancelling future billing is not an unconditional refund.

Compounded medicines are not FDA-approved, and the FDA does not review them for safety, effectiveness or quality before they are sold. Read the FDA's explanation of the risks.

Hume Care vs MEDVi: common questions

Is Hume Care or MEDVi cheaper?

At least one headline price is a starting, introductory, prepaid or partial figure, so neither is simply cheaper.

  • Hume Care$199/moGLP-1Rx semaglutide offer, billed monthly; prescription-specific extras may apply
  • MEDVi$99first month, then $199 per refill; confirm the refill interval

Which is better, Hume Care or MEDVi?

Neither wins outright on our scores, so the better one is the one that fits your medicine, budget and care needs.

Hume Care lists compounded medication only, and MEDVi lists brand-name and compounded medication.

Do Hume Care and MEDVi offer brand-name medication?

Hume Care lists compounded medication only, and MEDVi lists brand-name and compounded medication.

Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. Your prescriber decides which medicine suits you.

Do Hume Care and MEDVi take insurance?

Coverage depends on your plan and prescription, so read each provider's insurance terms.

Confirm coverage for your exact plan and prescription before you pay.

Where these facts come from

Hume Care:prices checked October 8, 2026.Read our Hume Care review

MEDVi:prices checked November 3, 2026, score evidence assessed October 16, 2026.Read our MEDVi review

We score on a published methodology, and partnership never changes a score or a fact here.

What should you compare next?