How to Switch GLP-1 Providers: Records, Refills and Fees

To switch GLP-1 providers, have the new clinician review your care and confirm the prescription and pharmacy before you cancel the old plan.

Three programs, Collective, Embody and TrimRx, say in public that their prescriber can continue your current dose if a clinician approves. Your dose, supply and prepaid balance do not carry over automatically.

September 19, 20268 min read
By Iacob Pastina, Independent Researcher & Publisher
Reviewed & updated · Cites primary sources (FDA, NEJM, CMS) · Not medical advice

Summarize this article with

Blank document folio bridging two green glass trays, a conceptual illustration of care-record handover.

To switch GLP-1 providers, ask the new clinical team to review your care, gather the records it needs, and confirm prescription and refill arrangements before making billing changes.

Acceptance, an unchanged dose and uninterrupted supply are not guaranteed. Ask both teams how to coordinate the handover; don't change treatment based on a checkout confirmation.

A lower price is worth investigating, but first establish what you're changing: the clinician, the pharmacy, the medication, or all three. Our provider comparisons can help you compare services.

The checklist below helps you ask what will actually happen when you leave one, and the dose-transfer table further down quotes what each program we checked says in public about continuing your current dose.

Can you switch GLP-1 companies?

You can seek care from another provider. Whether that service can take over your treatment depends on its clinical assessment and arrangements. Changing the company you pay doesn't, by itself, establish what you should take next.

  • •New clinician, same intended medicine: ask what assessment and records are needed before the new team makes a prescribing decision.
  • •Same clinician, different pharmacy: ask whether your prescription can transfer or your prescriber needs to send another. Confirm that the receiving pharmacy has what it needs before expecting a refill.
  • •Different medication or formulation: discuss the treatment change separately. Our semaglutide and tirzepatide comparison explains the drug distinction, not how to change your own dose.

Can you keep the same dose?

Your new prescriber decides that, and we cannot promise it. A few programs say in public how their prescribers handle a transferring dose, and the table in the next section quotes them.

Tell the clinician about any interruption and the exact product you've been using. Ask for clear instructions for the proposed supply before using it.

FDA has warned about dosing errors with compounded semaglutide.

Concentrations and units of measurement can differ. Don't carry your previous syringe-unit instructions over to a new vial or calculate a replacement dose from a web chart.

Have the prescriber or pharmacist explain the new directions and resolve any conflict.

A familiar ingredient name also doesn't establish equivalence. Compounded GLP-1 medicines are not FDA-approved; they should not be treated as automatic substitutes for an approved brand.

Which providers say they continue your current dose?

On October 15, 2026 we read 33 program sites, and six said something in public about patients who arrive on a dose.

Three of them, Collective, Embody and TrimRx, say their prescriber can continue you at your current dose, and every one of those statements depends on a clinician's approval.

Hers' weight-loss FAQ, read November 3, 2026, says care can often continue without restarting but does not promise a particular dose. TrimRx's review and shipping estimates below reflect its switching guides read on that date.

The rest of the table keeps its October 15 reading of each program's homepage, FAQ, how-it-works page, switching guides and terms, quoted in their own words.

"Not stated" means we found nothing on the pages we could read, not that the program refuses. Four programs in our index, AgelessRx, Breeze Meds, SynergyRx and Trimi Health, were outside this check.

Which providers say they continue your current dose?
ProgramWhat it says about your current doseProof it asks forHow long it says approval takes
Collective"Switch and keep your current dose if your doctor approves" (homepage).Not stated.A US-licensed doctor reviews your online health review "usually within a day or two" (homepage, stated for every sign-up rather than for transfers).
Embody"If appropriate, you'll be able to continue treatment at your current dose" (FAQ).Proof of your current prescription, which one of its licensed providers reviews.Not stated. If the provider needs more information, Embody schedules a brief virtual appointment with you.
TrimRxIts switching guides say the clinician "can prescribe at your current Ro dose rather than starting at 0.25 mg semaglutide or 2.5 mg tirzepatide, which is the new-patient default", and that after a stable dose of at least 4 weeks the clinician "can continue you at that dose". These are blog guides for people leaving Ro and Found, not its terms.A screenshot of your old portal's prescription page showing the medicine, dose, frequency and start date, or your dose history from the old clinic, entered in the intake.Clinician review typically 1 to 2 business days. The guides disagree on shipping: 3 to 5 business days in the planning paragraph, 2 to 5 in the shipping section and FAQ. It suggests finishing the intake 7 to 10 days before your next dose is due. Confirm your own review and delivery timing before arranging a handover.
FridaysNot stated. Its safety page tells you not to take two GLP-1 medicines at once. Its terms say a dose change you request forfeits its locked price, while a dose change your provider directs within the same product leaves the price unaffected."Evidence of the current/recent prescription including dose specifics" (safety page).Not stated.
Shed"Your provider will help you transition safely so you can continue your progress without interruption" (program page). It says nothing about the dose itself.Not stated.Not stated.
Sprout Health"If you have previously used this medication and wish to continue at a specific dosage, please inform your doctor during your consultation before your prescription is issued" (how it works).Not stated.Not stated.
Hers"In many cases, care can be continued without starting over" (weight-loss FAQ). Existing GLP-1 patients complete an intake so its clinicians can review their medical history and current treatment. The FAQ does not guarantee the same dose.Your medical history and current treatment are reviewed. The FAQ does not name a specific prescription document.Not stated in the FAQ.

The other 26 programs publish nothing we could find about a transferring patient's dose: Bodybuilding Health+, bmiMD, Direct Meds, DudeMeds, Eden Health, Enhance MD, Found, Gala, HealthRX, Hume Care, Luvo Health, MangoRx, Maximus, MEDGm, MEDVi, Nu Image Medical, Oak Longevity, PeterMD, Ro, Sesame Care, SkinnyRx, SnagRx, Strut Health, TMates, Wellorithm and Willow.

Ask any of them the three questions in the table before you pay.

Have these ready before you ask a program to continue your dose:

  • •Your current prescription label, or a screenshot of your portal's prescription page, showing the medicine, dose, frequency and start date.
  • •The date of your last injection, and how long you have held your current dose.
  • •Any dose changes your old clinician made and the side effects behind them.
  • •Whether you are moving between brand and compounded medicine, or between a pen and a vial. The milligrams can match while the product does not.

A promise on a homepage is marketing until a prescriber writes the dose.

TrimRx's own guides say its clinician generally continues a dose you have held for at least 4 weeks, and that a gap of more than 14 days on semaglutide or 21 days on tirzepatide usually means one step back.

The FDA labels set their own missed-dose rules, which you can read on our Wegovy, Zepbound, Mounjaro and tirzepatide dosage pages.

Get the new program's prescribed dose in writing before you cancel the old one.

Use this handover checklist before the next refill

Get answers from the people responsible for each step. Save them somewhere you can refer to during the handover.

A message saying your account is active doesn't answer whether a clinician has accepted your care or a pharmacy has received a prescription.

Use this handover checklist before the next refill
What to confirmWho to askWhat to write down
Continuing-patient assessment in your stateNew clinical teamEligibility questions, required visit and next step
Records needed for reviewNew clinical teamRequested documents and secure sending method
Prescribing and dispensing arrangementsPrescriber and pharmacyExact product, responsible team and prescription status
Help if the next supply is delayedResponsible prescriberContact details and an agreed contingency plan
Next charge and cancellation termsBoth billing teamsCharge dates, cutoff and written refund policy
Instructions for the new supplyPrescriber or pharmacistAny differences resolved before use

This is a communication worksheet, not a treatment schedule. It doesn't tell you to overlap medicines, double-order supplies or postpone a stop advised by your clinician.

What records should you gather?

Start with the receiving clinic's document list. Have your current prescription and pharmacy label, medication history, existing instructions, last administration date and relevant clinical records ready.

Ask which of these the clinician needs before reviewing your care.

HHS explains your right to access medical records held by HIPAA-covered providers and plans, subject to exceptions.

An unpaid bill doesn't justify denying you a copy. That right is not a promise of immediate delivery or acceptance by another clinic. Ask how to request the records and how long the request will take.

Send health information through the clinic's secure channel. You don't need to share prescriptions, diagnoses or label photographs with this comparison website.

Will switching actually save money?

Compare the money you'll pay and the care you'll receive, not just the advertised monthly figure. Get a written quote for the same intended medication and service, then ask:

  • •What is charged today, when is the next charge, and what is the total commitment?
  • •Are medication, consultations, required tests, supplies and shipping included?
  • •Does the quote depend on a starting dose, introductory period or prepaid term?
  • •What is refundable if treatment isn't prescribed or you cannot continue?

For tirzepatide, compare qualified program prices and terms.

If you already have a prescriber, our Zepbound cash-cost guide separates pharmacy costs from a clinical membership.

For a concrete prepaid-term example, our Henry Meds review calculates the amount behind its published monthly equivalents and explains the cancellation limits.

Henry is an editorial review, not a current affiliate recommendation.

If coverage is the problem, use the insurance and authorization guide before assuming a new cash-pay program is your only option.

When should you cancel the old subscription?

Confirm the care handover and billing cutoff separately. Ask the current service when cancellation takes effect, whether anything is awaiting payment or shipment, and what access to the clinical team remains.

Ask the new team what is confirmed and what is still pending.

Don't assume that stopping a future renewal refunds an existing payment or unused prepaid months.

The Tonik Wellness review shows why billing cadence and minimum commitment are different: its month-to-month card sits alongside a three-month minimum in the written policy.

Request your provider's applicable policy in writing and keep the cancellation confirmation. If the billing deadline arrives before care is arranged, contact both teams about the options rather than guessing which service to stop.

What should you confirm before using the new supply?

Check the product, pharmacy label and instructions against what your prescriber told you. Ask the clinical team or pharmacy to resolve discrepancies before use, even if the parcel otherwise looks as expected.

FDA recommends not using injectable GLP-1 medicine that arrives warm or without sufficient refrigeration.

Contact the pharmacy about the delivery and your prescriber about continuity. Our GLP-1 storage and delivery guide explains why storage instructions depend on the product and presentation.

Sources and method

We checked the primary sources below on September 19, 2026, and read each program's public pages for the dose-transfer table on October 15, 2026 through a US connection: the homepage, FAQ, how-it-works page, switching guides and terms.

On November 3, 2026 we read the three program pages listed below for the Hers row and TrimRx's timing; the other rows were not reread. In the table we name programs and link to our reviews instead of to provider websites.

The worksheet and the table are our editorial synthesis, prepared with AI assistance, not a clinical protocol or treatment test.

Individual acceptance, dose decisions, prices and cancellation terms must be confirmed with the relevant service.

  1. HHS: Your Medical Records, reviewed May 30, 2025.
  2. FDA: Dosing errors associated with compounded injectable semaglutide.
  3. FDA: Concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss, product and shipping cautions.
  4. Hers: weight loss program FAQ, answer for existing GLP-1 patients, checked November 3, 2026.
  5. TrimRx: switching from Ro Body to TrimRx, updated May 20, 2026; review and shipping times checked November 3, 2026.
  6. TrimRx: switching from Found to TrimRx, review and shipping times checked November 3, 2026.

Some links pay us a commission. That never changes a score or a ranking. How we work

Medical disclaimer: This article is general information, not medical advice. Talk to a licensed clinician before you start, stop or change any medication. Prices and rules can change after the date we checked them.

Affiliate disclosure: Some links in this article are affiliate links. If you join a program through one, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you.

Independent Clinical Perspective

What the doctors say

Quotes from named doctors and medical bodies, each linked to where they said it. We did not ask for them, and they do not endorse any provider.

“For more than a million people at high risk of heart attack and stroke, this treatment on the NHS could be life-changing: offering a powerful new way to protect their hearts and improve their health.”
Helen Williams, Consultant pharmacist; National Clinical Director for Cardiovascular Disease Prevention
NHS England
NHS England announcing semaglutide (Wegovy) availability to cut heart attack and stroke risk.
NHS England ↗ · Apr 2026
“So-called 'weight loss drugs' like semaglutide have proven benefits beyond reducing the number on the scales. They are now considered important medicines for preventing deadly heart attacks and strokes. Today's guidance will no doubt help save lives as cardiovascular disease is still one of the country's biggest killers.”
Sonya Babu-Narayan, Consultant cardiologist; Clinical Director, British Heart Foundation
British Heart Foundation
British Heart Foundation reacting to NICE recommending semaglutide for cardiovascular event prevention.
“While compounding can play an appropriate role when used to meet the specific needs of an individual patient, the large-scale production and marketing of compounded versions of these medicines raises serious safety risks when products have not undergone the rigorous scientific and regulatory review required for FDA-approved therapies.”
Jacqueline M. Stephens, PhD, FTOS, President, The Obesity Society
The Obesity Society
Official Obesity Society statement on compounded GLP-1 medications.

Quotes are general medical commentary about GLP-1 medications, independently sourced and not solicited by GLP-1 Picks. They are not an endorsement of any provider, our provider scores are set solely by our published methodology.

Featured Partners

Affiliate partners we feature. We may earn a commission.

Embody

Embody illustration of a compounded semaglutide injection vial
from $49/mo·Compounded

Collective

Collective provider illustration of compounded semaglutide injection vial
from $59/mo + $199/year membership after 21 days·Compounded

Gala

Current program options·Brand & Compounded

Check the medication, commitment and total price for your selected plan.

Affiliate links, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. These are featured partners, prioritized by our affiliate economics, not an editorial "best" ranking. Published scores have different evidence limits and do not establish better care. See the program comparison and scoring limitations.